HELP! What do you do with your blog over Christmas?

So first of all I’d like to take this opportunity to say MERRY CHRISTMAS to you and yours! I hope you enjoy the holidays, stay safe, and get to spend lots of time with your family and friends!

I’m still super-new to all this, so this is my first Christmas as a blogger! But I find myself in a bit of a quandary: What are you meant to do with your blog over the holidays?

I’ve broken up from work now until 4th January and, while I’ll no doubt be tweeting my way through the holidays, I imagine my tweets will be about rather more inane things than usual (if that’s at all possible!) and a lot more sporadic. So what’s standard protocol amongst bloggers and what do YOU do?

As far as I can see I have three options:

  1. Leave it alone for a fortnight and begin again as normal in the new year
  2. Post as normal and to my usual schedule
  3. Post some sporadic festive stuff as and when I’m inspired

I don’t even know whether anyone will read my posts over the holidays – after all, it’s a time for family, friends and celebrating.

So what do you think? All ideas are welcome!

5 Responses to “HELP! What do you do with your blog over Christmas?”


  1. 1 Trish McFarlane December 28, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    Hi Wendy- First, Merry Christmas. Second, my approach to my blog is to post some holiday related things, post some new information, and bring back some old posts that I know I wrote before many people were reading my blog. It seems to be working for me.

    Hope you have a happy New Year!

    • 2 Wendy December 28, 2009 at 8:22 pm

      Hi Trish – Merry Christmas to you too! 🙂 Thanks for your comments – that’s a great idea about bringing back some old posts. Sadly, I don’t think I have enough posts to do that yet, but this time next year it’ll hopefully be an ideal plan! I think I’m going to go for one lighthearted post and then get back to business just after the new year!

      Happy new year to you too!

  2. 3 Geoff Webb December 28, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    Personally I would be happy reading about bacon…nomnomnom – after all what is better than bacon and the holidays. Seriously what is better????


  1. 1 Tweets that mention HELP! What do you do with your blog over Christmas? « Wendy the Recruiter -- Topsy.com Trackback on December 23, 2009 at 10:07 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

About Me

Over ten years’ recruitment, employability, HR and sales experience in both the private and public sectors. I've worked in construction recruitment, FMCG headhunting, and in higher education on the employability agenda.

Click on my picture for more information.

My Tweets


