Trust Me… I’m an Estate Agent!

So (I keep starting my posts with “so”, sorry) Mr J and I are debating moving house at the moment (long boring story) and we’re starting to get some valuations done.

Now I know recruitment people have a bad rep, but surely their biggest rivals are estate agents?! If we had the time and inclination (neither of which we do) we’d love to try something like Tepilo but sadly its looks as though we’re going to be beholden to the agents.

So the valuations are underway, but even from the off we struggled to select which agents to even invite round to look at the place. We’ve viewed a few houses ourselves (with mixed success) but the levels of service vary so heavily from agent to agent.

A little summary for you…

Agent 1: By far my favourite. We’ve viewed two properties with them and both agents stood out. They didn’t push us, let us take our time, answered our questions (seemingly) honestly even if the answer wasn’t really positive. But neither was pushy at all. And while I like that as a buyer, I’m not sure how I feel about that as a seller… Do houses really sell themselves?

Agent 2: What a wide boy! Rocked up late and (clearly late for his next appointment) ferried us round the house in 5mins flat. Bragged about all the sales he’d made that week and was more interested in trying to sell ours for us.

Agent 3: Talk about disinterested! While I concede that she was something like 8 months pregnant and it was a Sunday, I have never seen anyone less interested! The house had SO much potential and she failed to point out 99% of what I (Joe Public) could even spot. Mr J told me later that he’d had to haggle just to get a viewing on it, such was her disinterest.

Agent 4: The owner was showing the property (always uncomfortable IMO, but fair enough). He was expecting us at 12. We were expecting to be shown round at 5. You can imagine how well that went down…

Agent 5: Never called us back to confirm a viewing we requested. Nice tactic.

Agent 6: we’ve avoided like the plague after the atrocious experience we had last time. They sell a lot of flats (or maybe they don’t and that’s why there’s so many on their database…) so we’ve asked them to do a valuation. We already regret that decision. We’ve had about 8 calls in 4 days from them. Mr J sends them straight to voicemail now and debating suing them for harassment! šŸ˜‰

I’ve never had many dabblings with recruiters. What I have has been annoying to say the least, but I have faith, because I too am a recruiter and I blindly refuse to believe they can all be bad. But if estate agents are an equal comparison and my experience is anything to go by then I have a new understanding… Where’s the trust? Where’s the honesty? Why is it I want none of these people to sell my house?! And if I had the same kind of experience with recruiters why would I want them to help me find staff?!

2 Responses to “Trust Me… I’m an Estate Agent!”


  1. 1 Paul Weston April 21, 2010 at 11:17 am

    Great post Wendy (@WendyJacob), it is true, estate agents and recruiters are all in the same boat, whether it be fair or not!! But it seems that you have found a decent one (your favourite) to be working with. Ditch the wide boy one! lol.

    It’s a shame you can’t use @Tepilo and Sarah Beeny’s site to help you!

    Good luck with the move!

    Where are you off to?


  1. 1 Tweets that mention That Crazy Little Thing Called Trust Ā« Wendy the Recruiter -- Topsy.com Trackback on April 22, 2010 at 8:17 am
Comments are currently closed.



Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

About Me

Over ten yearsā€™ recruitment, employability, HR and sales experience in both the private and public sectors. I've worked in construction recruitment, FMCG headhunting, and in higher education on the employability agenda.

Click on my picture for more information.

My Tweets


